Elevator Ethics…

anchorman-60percent.png

Today I was standing and waiting for the elevator in my residence hall. I know, I should take the stairs. What can I say? I’m not perfect. Anyway, as I waited, I was forced to stare at an “educational” poster reading “37% of women and 42% of men” remain sexually inactive during college. As I contemplated this somewhat random statistic, I began thinking about Santa Clara University’s policies relating to sex and sexual education/preparedness. Being a Jesuit institution, Santa Clara University opposes sex before marriage.

Why then should they inform me that, “37% of women and 42% of men” remain sexually inactive during college? It is a well known fact that abstinence only sex education is an ineffective method of preventing pregnancy and sexual activity. At first, I thought that this statistic was supposed to discourage me from having sex by suggesting that a large portion of my peers are sexually inactive. However, despite the posters nagging tone, it might as well read “The majority of your peers are having sex!” because anyone with a GED should be able to do some mental math and determine that if “37% of women and 42% of men” remain sexually inactive during college, “63% of women and 58% of men” are sexually active during college.

comic-Grayscale-300dpi.jpg

The more I think about it, the more I am convinced that this poster is almost laughably ineffective. Honestly, I am not even sure that the statistic is true. I tried searching for it online, but was unable to turn up the original source. Coming from the same disciplinarians who ineffectively struggle to enforce a no-alcohol policy, this poster comes off as more of a joke than a serious message.

2012-04-16-why-wait.jpg

Furthermore, I find myself questioning the logic of Santa Clara University’s policies on sex when, walking through Benson, I see tables offering free pregnancy tests. As previously noted, Santa Clara University opposes sex before marriage. Yet, by offering up free pregnancy tests, they are acknowledging that some of their students are sexually active. In my own opinion, Santa Clara University should promote student health proactively rather than retroactively, especially given that they are seemingly aware a large portion of their students are sexually active. Therefore, if I was to be in charge, I would promote the distribution of contraception rather than the distribution of pregnancy tests which obviously do not prevent either pregnancy or the spread of sexually transmitted diseases. picture-11.png

I won’t begin to argue that any sort of changes should be made. After all, this is a Jesuit institution which is rooted in historical and traditional Jesuit values. I chose to attend a private institution and therefore I forfeited my right to complain. However, I will simply point out the ways in which these policies seem illogical from my perspective.

 

Leave a comment